(Harroucouncil) LONDON

Meeting:	Standards Committee		
Date:	Thursday 5 June 2008		
Subject:	Establishment of Panel		
Key Decision: (Executive- side only)	No		
Responsible Officer:	Hugh Peart, Director of Legal & Governance Services		
Portfolio Holder:	Leader, Councillor David Ashton		
Exempt:	No		
Enclosures:	Appendix 1 -Terms of Reference Member Development Panel Appendix 2 – Proposed Membership of Member Development Panel		

SECTION 1 – SUMMARY AND RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. Council at its meeting on 8 May 2008 re-established the Standards Committee. Section 113(1) of the Local Government Act 2003 inserted into the Local Government Act 2000 (Section 54A) allows the provision to appoint sub-committees from time to time and this Committee has appointed previously a Member Development Panel, the Terms of Reference for which are attached at Appendix 1.
- 3. The proposed Councillor membership of the Panel and the nominee proposed as Chairman is set out at Appendix 2.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Members are asked to:

- (1) Establish a Member Development Panel and to appoint Members for the Municipal Year 2008/09.
- (2) Note the Terms of Reference of the Panel;
- (3) Confirm the councillor membership of the Panel and nomination for Chairman of the Member Development Panel;

SECTION 4 - CONTACT DETAILS AND BACKGROUND PAPERS

Contact: Pauline Ferris, Senior Professional Democratic Services, Telephone: 020 8424 1269 Email: pauline.ferris@harrow.gov.uk

Background Papers: None

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT PANEL

The Member Development Panel will have the following powers and duties:

- (a) to have oversight of the annual programme of member development;
- (b) to prepare and assist in the delivery of the induction of new Councillors following the Borough elections or any by-election;
- (c) to have oversight of the resources allocated for member development and make recommendations to Council for the appropriate resources for the member development function;
- (d) to liaise with external agencies providing development opportunities for members and procure their services as appropriate.

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT PANEL (4) (Non-Proportional)

	Conservative	<u>Labour</u>
	(2)	(2)
<u>l.</u> Members	Jean Lammiman (CH) Paul Osborn	B E Gate Phillip O'Dell
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Myra Michael Mrs Vina Mithani 	 Keeki Thammaiah David Perry